[tag] Down the TBR hole 1.0

I found this tag by Lost in a Story and honestly, I needed it really bad. My tbr is more of a mess than I am so I couldn’t turn down an opportunity to try and get it cleaned up.

Most of you probably know this feeling, you’re Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well that’s going to change!

These are the rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books.
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Lost in a Story repeats this tag every week but I feel like doing it that often is a bit futile for me as I am a horrible tbr hoarder. Rather, I will try and do some of these posts between my book reviews to space things out a bit.

 

The Books

 


Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire #1) by Mark Lawrence

When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were killed before him. At thirteen, he led a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king.

This book has been on my tbr list forever. I have this vague notion that one of my friends recommended I do not read this book a while back but I’ve just recently got the ebook so I might as well read it (even if it turns out to be a hot mess).

Judgement: keep

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

Patrick Bateman is twenty-six and he works on Wall Street, he is handsome, sophisticated, charming and intelligent. He is also a psychopath. Taking us to head-on collision with America’s greatest dream—and its worst nightmare—American Psycho is bleak, bitter, black comedy about a world we all recognise but do not wish to confront.

I know that I won’t read this book for a while to come but I really want to keep this on my tbr. I will get to this eventually, I promise!

Judgement: keep

 

 

Pildiotsingu children of men cover book tulemus

The Children of Men by P. D. James

The human race has become infertile, and the last generation to be born is now adult. Civilization itself is crumbling as suicide and despair become commonplace.

Honestly, the cover does nothing for me. Neither does the synopsis. I know I added this to my tbr after watching the film but there is no chance I’m going to pick up this book in the foreseeable future.

Judgement: go go go

 

 

 

There Are No Ninja Turtles In This Book (Sorry)
Enclave (Razorland #1) by Ann Aguirre

Ann Aguirre’s thrilling young adult novel is the story of two young people in an apocalyptic world–facing dangers, and feelings, unlike any they’ve ever known.

I’m somewhat torn about this book. The cover says ‘get rid of it’ but the synopsis says ‘maybe’. I am a sucker for my dystopian YA but some of the reviews mention that Ann Aguirre has a very off hand and victim blaming way of describing rape in this novel and I honestly don’t think I’m going to wilfully subject myself to that.

Judgement: go go go

 


The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence.

I’m not going to lie – the cover and the full synopsis seem quite uninteresting to me. I can see why I would have added it but realistically I’m not going to read this

Judgement: go go go

 

I definitely need to do more of these at some point – I thought it would be harder to let go of the books I’d piled up in my tbr but honestly, feels kind of liberating. Only 66 books to go through now!

 

One thought on “[tag] Down the TBR hole 1.0

Leave a Reply

