[tag] Down the TBR Hole 2.0

I did say that I wouldn’t do this tag every week but to be honest, I need it. I have also been quite busy moving out of my house and coming home for the month so I haven’t had a lot of time to plan for this post. I’ve also been so obsessed with the Mistborn series which has taken up loads of my time. It is not 11.47 pm and I have a slight headache but the fact that this post has come your way is a sign of my never-wavering dedication. It’ll be Monday somewhere when I post it.

this tag is originally by Lost in a Story.
my down the TBR hole 1.0 is here

These are the rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books.
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The Books

 

944555
The Etched City by K.J. Bishop

Gwynn and Raule are rebels on the run, with little in common except being on the losing side of a hard-fought war. Gwynn is a gunslinger from the north, a loner, a survivor . . . a killer. Raule is a wandering surgeon, a healer who still believes in just–and lost–causes.

I’m not super into it. I can’t really remember adding it to my TBR at all and the synopsis nor the cover encourage me to keep it there. It just doesn’t seem that appealing.

Judgement: go go go

 

 

6494966The Line (The Line #1) by Teri Hall

An invisible, uncrossable physical barrier encloses the United States. The Line is the part of the border that lopped off part of the country, dooming the inhabitants to an unknown fate when the enemy used a banned weapon.

I actually quite like the cover of this book – looks spooky and intriguing. Unfortunately, the synopsis didn’t seem that captivating and quite a few of the reviews confirmed my fear that this book would be a choppily written YA that doesn’t really deliver much.

Judgement: go go go

 

19057
I Am the Messenger
by Markus Zusak

protect the diamonds
survive the clubs
dig deep through the spades
feel the hearts

I know I must have added this to my TBR after finishing The Book Thief which I absolutely loved. Though I probably won’t get around to reading this in a while, I don’t feel like giving up on it yet. If it’s even a fraction of how good The Book Thief was it will be worth it.

Judgement: keep

 

88815
The Reluctant Fundamentalist
 
by Mohsin Hamid

At a café table in Lahore, a bearded Pakistani man converses with an uneasy American stranger. As dusk deepens to night, he begins the tale that has brought them to this fateful meeting . . .

I think that I was probably expecting to get rid of this one as it’s not really the type of book I usually go for (i.e. high fantasy or YA) but after reading the synopsis I feel like I should keep it on my TBR. The reviews – even the “bad” ones made me want to check this out for myself.

Judgement: keep

 

6050678Leviathan (Leviathan #1) by Scott Westerfeld

Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battletorn war machine and a loyal crew of men. Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service.

The cover is sort of cool but not really cool enough to make me want to read this book. The synopsis seems rather uninteresting as well. There definitely seems to be potential to this book but I’m not really crazy about steampunk so I can probably find YA I’d enjoy more than this.

Judgement: go go go

Leave a Reply

